A declaration of love

rainbow

I’m shy about saying things like this, so I’ll say it straight off. I love the earth! I love it like a mother, a child, a lover, like the most beautiful thing ever, the most exciting; like something essential to my very being. Which, of course, it is.

And it baffles me that everyone doesn’t feel this way. If they did, there would be no need for religion, anthropomorphic gods or otherwise. There would be no divides between people and people, or between people and animals, plants, rocks, mountains or rivers.

I really believe if we could all recognise the importance of the earth in our lives – the importance of a healthy earth – and act accordingly, everything would fall into place. People would want to fulfill their needs, not their greed; forests would not be felled, nor mountains blasted, and there would be the right amount of rain; there would be enough to go round, and everyone would be willing to share. I’m not suggesting that we go back to living in caves and trees; just that we curb our desires a little and find ways of making ourselves comfortable without destroying the earth. The current systems, especially in urban areas, are loaded against this way of thinking. But it can be done. We can each start by stepping out of these destructive systems in our own lives.

Am I being simplistic? I don’t think so. As Bill Mollison said: “Though the problems of the world are increasingly complex, the solutions remain embarrassingly simple.”

 

 

Leave a Reply

